Skip to main content
scroll to top

Jury Service

Thousands of New Hampshire citizens are called for jury service each year, serving as partners with the court in the administration of justice. Names of potential jurors are randomly selected from a list of driver’s license holders and registered voters, ensuring that juries represent a cross-section of the community. Being summoned for jury duty does not mean that an individual actually will serve on a jury. Judges and attorneys question potential jurors to determine if they have any biases that would prevent them from hearing a case impartially.

Two types of juries serve in New Hampshire’s courts:

Grand Jury

A grand jury hears evidence presented by the county attorney in criminal cases and decides whether or not there is enough evidence to formally charge a person with a crime. They do not decide guilt or innocence.

    Petit or Trial Jury

    A petit or trial jury hears a case brought to trial and renders a verdict based upon presented evidence. In a civil case, a trial jury determines which party is at fault and how much compensation for damages is appropriate. In a criminal case, a trial jury determines whether the defendant is guilty or not guilty. The jury’s deliberations are conducted in private and the verdict reached must be unanimous.

    • To learn more about jury service, go to the Jurors section of this website.

     

    Information Icon

    Juror Qualifications and Terms of Service

    Juror Qualifications and Terms of Service

    A juror must be:

    • At least 18 years old
    • A United States citizen
    • Able to read, speak, and understand English

    Persons over the age of 70 may be excused from jury duty upon request. The court will make reasonable accommodations to try and facilitate jury service for persons with disabilities. If you have been convicted of a felony that has not been annulled, you are not eligible to serve. You do not need to have any special skills, education, job experience or legal knowledge to be a juror.

    Jurors are paid $20.00 for each day of service. By law, employers must allow employees time off (paid or unpaid) for jury service.