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Re: Comments on the proposals to amend Rules 1 — 19 of the New Hampshire Rules of Criminal Procedure

Advisory Committee:

[ have had the opportunity to review the proposed amendments to the New Hampshire Rules of
Criminal Procedure and I would appreciate your consideration of the following issues I foresee with the
rules as currently written:

Rule 3(a): Requiring a Complaint to be signed under oath

Complaints charging a class A misdemeanor or felony filed in Superior Court over the past 8 years
have not been required to be signed under oath. Since the accused will be entitled to a probable cause
hearing, it seems unnecessary to require the complaints to be signed under oath even when filed by
attorneys. As officers of the court, prosecuting attorneys are bound by the Rules of Professional Conduct to
only file complaints which they believe have sufficient evidence to support a probable cause standard.
Given these safeguards, this rule seems like a superfluous requirement.

Rule 4(a)(1): Timeframe for filing complaint

The one-hour timeframe for filing complaints prior to the arraignment presents a logistical challenge
which could result in the dismissal of serious cases, potentially posing a danger to the public. Currently, the
rule only requires that complaints for incarcerated defendants be filed prior to the commencement of the
arraignment. Given that few defendants are incarcerated for misdemeanor-level crimes, the requirement for
police departments to physically hand file complaints within hours of an arrest is not unduly burdensome.

Under the proposed rule, police departments will have to hand file complaints for incarcerated
defendants held on misdemeanor and felony-level crimes, with no ability to e-file complaints, within a very
tight timeframe.

To understand the challenge, consider the following hypothetical situation:
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An officer of a small, remote, police department makes an arrest in the early morning hours and the
defendant refuses a bail commissioner or is otherwise held. The arresting officer would complete the
paperwork while on shift, but would need to leave the paperwork for the morning shift to both swear to and
file since the court does not open until 8:00 a.m. and there is no overnight drop box for paperwork.

Dover and Rochester Circuit Court arraignments for incarcerated individuals occur at 11:00 a.m. and
11:30 a.m., respectively. Meaning, with the one-hour deadline, the morning shift would have just two hours
to locate a justice of the peace (the Circuit Court staff will no longer swear to our paperwork) and drive to
the respective district court to hand file that paperwork to meet the 1-hour deadline. For our more remote
police departments, that trip can take upwards of a half hour during the morning commute. This is an
extremely tight timeframe, especially if an emergency arose where police resources would need to be
redirected elsewhere in the town. In the smaller towns where there is often only one or two officers on shift,
this could very easily result in paperwork not being filed and/or cases being dismissed, or the town being
without a police presence for an extended period of time.

Of course, if there was an e-filing or other option to fax/email complaints, it would make the
deadline much more workable. As it stands, this requirement will present a significant challenge to the
police department and could result in the dismissal of serious cases and the release of dangerous individuals
over incomplete paperwork.

Rule 4(g)(1): Requirement of Notice of Intent to Seek Class A Penalties Served on Defendant

The justification for requiring the State to file the Notice of Intent to Seek Class A Penalties is
presumably so that the defendant knows he/she is facing potential incarceration and is entitled to counsel.
However, since the Rules require the Court to inform the defendant of the potential penalties and right to
appointed counsel when arraigned on a class A misdemeanor or felony under Rule 4(g)(2) or via their
attorney when a waiver of arraignment under Rule 4(c) is filed, this requirement is redundant and
unnecessary given that the complaint would also indicate the misdemeanor classification on its face.

Thank you for considering these comments as you finalize the rules.

Sincerely,

Emily
Strafford County Attorney



