Information Center
New Hampshire Circuit Court

FILING AN EQUITY PETITION

| Items listed below are needed to start this type case: |

] A petition in an equity matter can involve different matters. Examples are petition for partition,
common law spouse, declaratory judgment, breach of duty as fiduciary, quiet title, power of
attorney, charitable uses and trusts, deviation from terms of trust.

] There is no specific form to use and the formatting of the petition must be in accordance with
Probate Court Rule 118. This is a paper case filing.

\ How much will this cost? \
The filing fee is $250.00

| Other information |
The Petitioner is responsible for filing an original and two copies for each Respondent.

] The Return Day is always the first Tuesday of the month, at least 45 days from the date of
issuance of the Orders of Notice. NOTE: This is not a hearing date.

Probate Court Rules 118-125 are on the website:
Rules of the Circuit Court of the State of New Hampshire -- Probate Division

\ What happens next? \

] The court will process the petition and issue an Order of Notice for each Respondent. The
packet is mailed to the Petitioner (can be picked up at the court) for service. Refer to the
Order of Notice for the specific method for service — Generally orders of notice on equity cases
are served by in hand/abode service by a sheriff's department or agencies responsible for civil
service. If previously approved by the court, the documents can be served by certified malil
return receipt restricted delivery or by publication.

Once the respondents have been served, the Return of Service form is returned to the court.

The return date will be on the Order of Notice, which tells the Respondent(s) when they need
to file an appearance, answer/response to the equity petition

There is no specific form to use when filing an answer or response.

OO o

A Structuring Conference will be scheduled by the court. This will establish dates to exchange
certain documents and discuss mediation.

If you have further questions please call the Information Center at 1-855-212-1234.

Forms and Instructions are available at any NH Circuit Court — Probate Division
or at
www.courts.state.nh.us/probate
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