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From: Paula D. Lewis [mailto:plewis@nhbar.org]

Sent: Monday, December 14, 2020 7:23 PM

To: Justice Patrick E. Donovan <PDonovan@courts.state.nh.us>

Subject: Proposed Court Rule Updates to NH Supreme Court Rules 42A, 53.1 - 53.5

EXTERNAL: Do not open attachments or click on links unless you recognize and trust the sender.

Justice Donovan,

Please find attached the proposed NH Supreme Court Rule updates as discussed.

Best regards,

Tocs

Paula D. Lewis

Director of Business Operations
New Hampshire Bar Association
2 Pillsbury Street, Suite 300
Concord, NH 03301

603 715-3202

Members - Stay in Touch! Update Your Contact Info
If your firm, home or email address has recently changed, please
login to the Member dashboard to update your contact
information. Contact Member Records with any related questions.




Proposed upd

Original

ates to NH Supreme Court Rule 42A

(I) Bar Dues.

should not b
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urt shall Feqdire 'tﬁé“é;t“t:)rﬁéy's- Fépbrféd to sh cause Wuhy they
e suspended from the practice of law in this State for non-payment of

the court fees or bar dues. If the court determines that an attorney has not shown
good cause for non-payment of court fees or bar dues, an order shall be issued
suspending that attorney from the practice of law in this State.

Proposed

(I) Bar Dues.

(A) On

or before September 15, following the renewal date of June 1, the

New Hampshire Bar Association shall report to the court the names of attorneys
admitted to the bar of this State who have not yet paid annual fees assessed by
the court or the annual bar dues provided for in the Constitution and By-Laws of
the New Hampshire Bar Association. The court shall require the attorneys reported
to show cause why they should not be suspended from the practice of law in this
State for non-payment of the court fees or bar dues. If the court determines that
an attorney has not shown good cause for non-payment of court fees or bar dues,
an order shall be issued suspending that attorney from the practice of law in this

State.

Reason — Remove the 60-day reporting requirement and replace with the date of September 15 as per

the proposed attorney

license renewal schedule for the next reporting year. In practice, reporting of

names has occurred up to 150 days from the assessment date. The proposed schedule for the next
reporting year will have names reported to the court at 106 days.



Original

(IT) Foreign Legal Consultant Annual Fees.

The court shall requwe the forelgn Iegal consultants reported to show cause why thelr
licenses to practice as foreign legal consultants should not be suspended. If the court
determines that a foreign legal consultant has not shown good cause for non-payment
of the annual fee, an order shall be issued suspending the license of the foreign legal
consultant.

Proposed

(II) Foreign Legal Consultant Annual Fees.

(AD On or before September 15, following the renewal date of June 1, the
New Hampshlre Bar Association shall report to the court the names of foreign legal
consultants licensed to practlce in New Hampshire who have not yet paid the
‘;:—mnual fee required by Rule 42D(7). The court shall require the foreign legal
consultants reported to show cause why their licenses to practice as foreign legal
consultants should not be suspended. If the court determines that a foreign legal
consultant has not shown good cause for non-payment of the annual fee, an order
shall be issued suspending the license of the foreign legal consultant.

Reason - Remove the 60-day reporting requirement and replace with the date of September 15 as per
the proposed attorney license renewal schedule for the next reporting year. In practice, reporting of
names has occurred up to 150 days from the assessment date. The proposed schedule for the next
reporting year will have names reported to the court at 106 days.



Proposed updates to NH Supreme Court Rule 53.1 NHMCLE Requirement

Original

C. Reporting Year -- The reporting year shall be the period from July—+te-3ure-38. The
annual reperting-date-shall-beJuly-1, and reporting shall be done in the manner specified

in Rule 53.3.

Proposed

C. Reporting Year -- The reporting year shall be the period from June 1 to May 31. The
annual NHMCLE affidavit filing period shall be June 1 to July 1 following the end of the
reporting year, and reporting shall be done in the manner specified in Rule 53.3.

Reason

Syncing the NHMCLE reporting year with NH Supreme Court fee assessments, NHBA Dues assessment
and Trust Account Compliance reporting year.

Clarifying that all CLEs must be taken prior to July 1 in order to file the NHMCLE affidavit. In prior years,
attorneys have taken CLEs on July 1, particularly in the evening hours, and then have filed their NHMCLE
affidavit on July 2 without penalty.



Proposed updates to NH Supreme Court Rule 53.2 NHMCLE Requirement

Original

B. Exemptions From Minimum CLE Requirement.

1. Those exempt from annual certification requirements under Rule 53.2(A)(2)
or 53.2(A)(3) are not required to meet the minimum CLE requirements of Rule 53.1(B)
for that reporting year.

2. Lawyers first admitted to New Hampshire practice on or after 3apuary-1 of the
reporting year are not required to meet the minimum CLE requirements of Rule 53.1(B)
for that reporting year, but must do so in any subsequent reporting year during which
they hold any New Hampshire Bar Association active membership status for an
aggregated total of more than six (6) months during the reporting year.

3. Lawyers on active duty for the United States Armed Forces for more than
three (3) months of the reporting year are not required to meet the minimum CLE
requirements of Rule 53.1(B) for that reporting year.

4. Lawyers who change from any New Hampshire Bar Association active
membership status to any inactive membership status before 3aptary 1 of any
reporting period, and who maintain inactive membership status for the remainder of
that reporting period are not required to meet the minimum CLE requirements of Rule
53.1(B) for that reporting year, but must do so in any subsequent reporting year during
which they hold any New Hampshire Bar Association active membership status for an
aggregated total of more than six (6) months during the reporting year.

5. Lawyers who are elected State or Federal officials not engaged in the practice
of law during a reporting year are not required to meet the minimum CLE requirements
of Rule 53.1(B) for that reporting year, but must do so in any subsequent reporting
year during which they hold any New Hampshire Bar Association active membership
status for an aggregated total of more than six (6) months during the reporting year.

6. Lawyers may be exempted from meeting the minimum CLE requirements of
Rule 53.1B, in whole or in part, by the NHMCLE Board, upon petition, for compelling

reasons. Such reasons may mclude, but are not llmlted to—phﬁieaJ—ef—ea:-heF-dﬁabiH-y




Proposed

B. Exemptions From the Minimum CLE Requirement.

1. Those exempt from annual certification requirements under Rule 53.2(A)(2)
or 53.2(A)(3) are not required to meet the minimum CLE requirements of Rule 53.1(B)
for that reporting year.

2. Lawyers first admitted to New Hampshire practice on or after December 1 of
the reporting year are not required to meet the minimum CLE requirements of Rule
53.1(B) for that reporting year, but must do so in any subsequent reporting year during
which they hold any New Hampshire Bar Association active membership status for an
aggregated total of more than six (6) months during the reporting year.

_ 3. Lawyers on active duty for the United States Armed Forces for more than
three (3) months of the reporting year are not required to meet the minimum CLE
requirements of Rule 53.1(B) for that reporting year.

4. Lawyers who change from any New Hampshire Bar Association active
membership status to any inactive membership status before December 1 of any
reporting period, and who maintain inactive membership status for the remainder of
that reporting period are not required to meet the minimum CLE requirements of Rule
53.1(B) for that reporting year, but must do so in any subsequent reporting year during
which they hold any New Hampshire Bar Association active membership status for an
aggregated total of more than six (6) months during the reporting year.

5. Lawyers who are elected State or Federal officials not engaged in the practice
of law during a reporting year are not required to meet the minimum CLE requirements
of Rule 53.1(B) for that reporting year, but must do so in any subsequent reporting
year during which they hold any New Hampshire Bar Association active membership
status for an aggregated total of more than six (6) months during the reporting year.

6. Lawyers may be exempted from meeting the minimum CLE requirements of
Rule 53.1B, in whole or in part, by the NHMCLE Board, upon petition, for compelling
reasons. Such reasons may include, but are not limited to, financial, physical, or other
hardship which prevents compliance with this rule during the period of such hardship.

Reason
Added ‘the’ in the header

Updating the ‘six month’ date from January to December as per the reporting date change from July 1 —
June 30 to June 1 - May 31 beginning June 1, 2021
Note: for the current reporting year (6/1/2020-5/31/2021) the date will remain January 1, 2021.

Update in paragraph 53.2 B 6 to use same language as used for NH Supreme Court fees and NHBA dues

waivers.



Proposed updates to NH Supreme Court Rule 53.3 NHMCLE Requirement

Original

53.3. Reporting And-Certification of Compliance with Rule 53

A. On or before July 1 of each year, every lawyer having been in any New
Hampshire Bar Association active membership status at any time during the

£

immediately preceding 3ely-—1-June 30 reporting year and not exempt pursuant to Rule
53.2(A)(2) or 53.2(A)(3) shall file p-Certification of Compliance with the NHMCLE Board,
in such form as the NHMCLE Board shall prescribe, concerning either his or her
completion of CLE during the previous reporting year, or the basis for his or her claim
of exemption under Rule 53.2(B).

Lawyers may engage in and report CLE performed after the close of the
reporting year and prior to the filing of a-Certification-of Compliance, provided that such
CLE may not also be used to satisfy the requirement for the reporting year in which it is
performed.

B. Each such lawyer shall maintain such records or certificates of attendance as
may be required to substantiate his or her compliance or exemption for a period of two
(2) years following the close of a reporting year.

C. The court shall assess each lawyer in New Hampshire Bar Association active
membership status as of the assessment date an annual sum to support the
administration of Rule 53.

D. Lawyers exempt under Rule 53.2(B) who wish to claim NHMCLE credit for
activities completed during a reporting year for which such exemption applies (e.g., for
purposes of carrying over such credits pursuant to Rule 53.1(D)) may do so by either
(1) filing a-Certificatien of Compliance for the reporting year in which the activity was
completed, or (2) reporting such activities on the Eertificatien of Compliance filed for
the following reporting year if no exemption is then available.

E. The NHMCLE Board shall from time to time audit the Cettifications of
Compliance filed by lawyers in accordance with this rule to determine whether the
information reported is accurate and/or to determine whether the activities reported
are qualifying activities. The NHMCLE Board may select Certifications of Compliance for
audit based on apparent deficiencies in the Eertifications, or based on any other factor
that the NHMCLE Board, in its discretion, deems appropriate. Certifications may also be
selected for audit on a random basis. The NHMCLE Board shall notify a lawyer whose
Eertifieation of Compliance has been selected for audit of the reporting period or
periods to be audited. The NHMCLE Board shall request that, within thirty (30) days of
the notification, the lawyer provide information about the CLE activities reported and/or
evidence to substantiate that the lawyer completed the CLE activities reported. If the
information provided by the lawyer is insufficient to establish that the Certifieation of
Compliance is accurate and/or that the activities reported are qualifying activities, the
NHMCLE Board shall notify the lawyer of the issue(s) involved and invite the lawyer to
submit a written response. If, upon consideration of the lawyer’s response and any
other facts and circumstances that the NHMCLE Board considers pertinent, the NHMCLE
Board determines that a lawyer’s Eertification of Compliance is inaccurate and/or
deficient, it shall determine whether the lawyer should be required to take remedial
action, and if so, the remedial action required. The decision of the NHMCLE Board as to
the remedial action required shall be final.




Proposed
53.3. Reporting and Affidavit of Compliance with Rule 53

A. On or before July 1 of each year, every lawyer having been in any New
Hampshire Bar Association active membership status at any time during the
immediately preceding June 1- -May 31 reporting year and not exempt pursuant to Rule
53.2(A)(2) or 53.2(A)(3) shall file an Afﬁdav:t of Compliance with the NHMCLE Board, in
such form as the NHMCLE Board shall prescribe, concerning either his or her completion
of CLE during the prewous reporting year, or the basis for his or her claim of exemption
under Rule 53.2(B). A lawyer who has madvertently neglected to report in their initial
Aff{dawt of Compiiance all credits earned in the mmednately preceding reportmg year
can reopen the initial Afﬁdawt of Compliance once within thirty days of the initial fi iling,
but not later than July 31.

Lawyers may engage in and report CLE performed after the close of the
reporting year and prior to the filing of an Affidavit of Compliance, provided that such
CLE may not also be used to satisfy the requirement for the reporting year in which it is
performed.

B. Each such lawyer shall maintain such records or certificates of attendance as
may be required to substantiate his or her compliance or exemption for a period of two
(2) years following the close of a reporting year.

C. The court shall assess each lawyer in New Hampshire Bar Association active
membership status as of the assessment date an annual sum to support the
administration of Rule 53.

D. Lawyers exempt under Rule 53.2(B) who wish to claim NHMCLE credit for
activities completed during a reporting year for which such exemption applies (e.g., for
purposes of carrying over such credits pursuant to Rule 53.1(D)) may do so by either
(1) filing an Affidavit of Compliance for the reporting year in which the activity was
completed, or (2) reporting such activities on the Affidavit of Compliance filed for the
following reporting year if no exemption is then available.

E. The NHMCLE Board shall from time to time audit the Affidavits of Compliance
filed by lawyers in accordance with this rule to determine whether the information
reported is accurate and/or to determine whether the activities reported are qualifying
activities. The NHMCLE Board may select Affidavits of Compliance for audit based on
apparent deficiencies in the Affidavits or based on any other factor that the NHMCLE
Board, in its discretion, deems appropriate. Affldawts may also be selected for audit on
a random basis. The NHMCLE Board shall notify a lawyer whose Affidavit of Compliance
has been selected for audit of the reporting period or periods to be audited. The
NHMCLE Board shall request that, within thirty (30) days of the notification, the lawyer
provide information about the CLE activities reported and/or evidence to substantiate
that the lawyer completed the CLE activities reported. If the information provided by
the lawyer is insufficient to establish that the Affidavit of Compliance is accurate and/or
that the activities reported are qualifying activities, the NHMCLE Board shall notify the
lawyer of the issue(s) involved and invite the lawyer to submit a written response. If,
upon consideration of the lawyer’s response and any other facts and circumstances that
the NHMCLE Board considers pertinent, the NHMCLE Board determines that a lawyer’s
Affidavit of Compliance is inaccurate and/or deficient, it shall determine whether the
lawyer should be required to take remedial action, and if so, the remedial action
required. The decision of the NHMCLE Board as to the remedial action required shall be
final.



Reason

Syncing the NHMCLE reporting year with NH Supreme Court fee assessments, NHBA Dues assessment
and Trust Account Compliance reporting year.
Replacing the word ‘Certification(s)’ with ‘Affidavit(s)’ to match the document name stemming from

implementation of 3-1-1.

Clarify the process and time frame allowed for entering additional CLEs post filing of the Affidavit of
Compliance for the said reporting year.



Proposed updates to NH Supreme Court Rule 53.4 NHMCLE Requirement

Original
53.4. Sanctions And Appeal

A. Delinquency -

1. Notice of Delinquency - On August 1, following the annual reporting date, any
lawyer not in compliance with this rule shall be assessed a delinquency fee by the
NHMCLE Board. Thereafter, the Board shall send a notice to the lawyer notifying the
lawyer of the delinquency fee and directing the lawyer to comply with this rule for the
prior reporting period.

E
¥

2

reporting-peried- On or abeut September 15 following the annual reporting date, the
NHMCLE Board shall report to the Supreme Court the name of any lawyer who still has
not complied with the requirements of the rule, or who has failed to certify that the
lawyer is exempt from the requirements and/or has not paid any outstanding
delinquency fee. Upon receiving this report, the court shall initiate a proceeding to
suspend the lawyer from the practice of law.

Proposed

53.4. Sanctions and Appeal

A. Delinquency -

1. Notice of Delinqguency - On August 1, following the annual reporting date,
any lawyer not in compliance with this rule shall be assessed a delinquency fee by
the NHMCLE Board. Thereafter, the Board shall send a notice to the lawyer
notifying the lawyer of the delinquency fee and directing the lawyer to comply with
this rule for the prior reporting period.

2. On or before September 15 following the annual reporting date, the
NHMCLE Board shall report to the Supreme Court the name of any lawyer who still
has not complied with the requirements of the rule, or who has failed to certify
that the lawyer is exempt from the requirements and/or has not paid any
outstanding delinquency fee. Upon receiving this report, the court shall initiate a
proceeding to suspend the lawyer from the practice of law.

Reason

Update date by which the non-compliant names are to be forwarded by the NHMCLE Board to the NH
Supreme Court and aligning the date with NH Supreme Court Rule 42A stating when the NH Bar
Association reports such names to the NH Supreme Court.



Proposed updates to NH Supreme Court Rule 53.5 NHMCLE Requirement

Original
53.5. NHMCLE Board

E. Powers and Duties - The Board shall have the following powers and duties:
1. Administer this rule and establish appropriate committees for that purpose;
2. Adopt procedures and standards consistent with this rule and for its intended

operation;
3. Report at least annually to the New Hampshire Bar Association and the

Supreme Court; and .
4. As provided in Rule 53.3(E), conduct audits of lawyers’ Eertifications of

Compliance to determine whether the requirements of the rule are being met.

Proposed
53.5. NHMCLE Board

E. Powers and Duties - The Board shall have the following powers and duties:
1. Administer this rule and establish appropriate committees for that

purpose;
2. Adopt procedures and standards consistent with this rule and for its

intended operation;
3. Report at least annually to the New Hampshire Bar Association and the

Supreme Court; and
4. As provided in Rule 53.3(E), conduct audits of lawyers’ Affidavits of
Compliance to determine whether the requirements of the rule are being

met.

Reason
Replacing the word ‘Certification(s)’ with ‘Affidavit’ to match what the document name stemming from

implementation of 3-1-1.



